Skip to content

Lightroom web galleries.

January 27, 2010

Creating a web gallery or website can be quite time consuming and difficult, especially if you want to make it look professional.

I’ve recently updated my site, www.jessebrownphotography.com, using Lightroom.  I’ve been using Lightroom to create my web galleries for a while now and I’ve never been displeased with the results.  It’s very easy to use and really quick.

When you first open Lightroom, you’ll notice 5 different modules; Library, Develop, Slideshow, Print, and Web.  Inside the Web module you’ll have a Template Browser on the left side.  Click through and see which one fits your style.  I personally don’t feel as though most of them have a very polished look for a website, however, if you are just creating a gallery for a client to preview and make selects, then any one will fit the bill.  If you want to create a gallery for your personal site you may have to go in and tweak some of the presets.  For example, I chose the Flash gallery.  The main features I wanted to use from this gallery are the scroll bar and the buttons. The rest of the options were insignificant for my purposes.  On the right side you’ll see drop menus; Engine, Site Info, Color Palette, Appearance, Image Info, Output Settings, and Upload Settings.  Since I’m just focusing on the bare minimum of this gallery, the only thing I’m concerned with is the Color Palette.  I set everything except the Controls to their 30% gray.  I also go in and alter the Appearance Module.  Here, you can change Layout and Image Size.  I chose the Scrolling Layout and I changed my Thumbnail size to medium.  That’s about it.  After you’ve finished, click the Export button and choose your destination and folder name.  Then you’re ready to upload and you’re on your way.

Go in and play around with it and figure out what works best for you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 2:47 pm

    Great article on using LR for getting your images up and running on the web. Fantastic looking images on your blog, and look forward to keeping up to date with new work! Take care and keep shooting!

    Dick Berry

    • February 2, 2010 3:01 pm

      Thanks you so much. We try to be very informative and pass along any trips and tricks we run across.

      Best.
      -jesse

Leave a Reply

