Skip to content

Gearing up for Costa Rica

January 22, 2010

It’s getting pretty close to March, and that means our photo Workshop in Costa Rica, and that means getting our gear together and putting it on a plane or two. I thought I would share a few thoughts about what I’m bringing, how I’m carrying it and some things you might need if you’re joining us.

I bought a new suitcase that is long enough for me to pack my tripod in. I went with the 28-inch “Wheely Beast Rolling Duffel” from REI. This bag is cavernous and lightweight, and at $149 you can’t beat it. There are a few different sizes of this bag, but the 28-inch model is just right for me. I haven’t had the chance to field test it yet but it has many good reviews, including one from Scott Bourne over at photofocus.com.

Jesse got a new camera backpack from Santa Clause last month. He will be carrying his camera gear and laptop in a Thin Tank Photo ‘StreetWalker HardDrive’. I have a little bit of bag envy now, and I’m anxious to see how he likes the StreetWalker on the trip. Look for a review from Jesse soon, and find out more info at ThinkTankPhoto.com. PS… you’ll get a free gift from us when you order!

On the software side, you can’t do without Adobe Lightroom for the workshop. Lucky for you if you don’t already own the software, there are a couple of options available for free. You can download the 30-day free trial of Lightroom 2 at adobe.com. You can only do this once, so download it at the end of February if you’re coming to our workshop in March. The other option is the public beta version on Lightroom 3. You can download the beta for free at adobe labs and it won’t expire until the final version of Lightroom 3 is released.

Another piece of software you are definitely going to want is Photomatix Pro for processing HDR images. I have been working with this software a lot lately, and there are some techniques I’m dying to share with you. You can enter the discount code “RobKnight15” at hdrsoft.com to get 15% off when you order.

We’re getting excited… I hope you’re getting your gear together!

Complete itinerary and online registration HERE

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

