Skip to content

November 1st… “Mayan Ghosts”

October 26, 2008

 

Please join me at the grand opening of Jon David Salons on Highland Avenue from 7:00 until 11:00 this Saturday, November first. I’ll be showing twenty of my photographs in my first solo exhibit. There will be music by A Fight to the Death at 9:00, and refreshments all evening. The Salon is located behind the Highland Bakery at 655 Highland Avenue, Loft #11. You can reach the salon at 404-524-9241… they are open now, so check it out!  

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jay G permalink
    November 1, 2008 7:04 am

    Your own show… Very Nice! I’ll try to come out and support you.

    I’m reading a book this morning called “Good Poems” by Garrison Keillor and this part in the introduction reminded me of you.

    Sometimes however, one is dead wrong. I’ve come to admire writers I once cocked a snoot at, like Raymond Carver and Charles Bukowski. Bukowski said. “There is nothing wrong with poetry that is entertaining and easy to understand. Genius could be the ability to say a profound thing in a simple way.” This is not what an English major like me cared to hear, back when I was busy writing poems that were lacerating, opaque, complexity layered, unreadable. But now I’m older and I read Bukowski’s love poems, his odes to companionship and city scenes and nightlife, and admire his good humor, e.g., the poem in which he says he’s lived with some fine women in his time but he would rather drive in reverse gear from L.A. to N.Y. than live with any of them again, and I wonder, Why do English teachers offer their prisoners so much Cummings and no Bukowski? Why do standard anthologies include one and never mention the other? Because one of them went to Harvard and had fine manners and lived in the Village, around the corner from the publisher, and the other was a day laborer and roughneck who lived in L.A. and had bad skin and looked like a gargoyle, that’s why.

    Have a great time tonight and good luck with the show,
    Jay

Leave a Reply

